How to Decrease Your Grocery Bill and Still Buy Healthy Groceries

Digital Image by Sean LockeDigital Planet Designwww.digitalplanetdesign.com

Picture found here

As you start to buy healthier food, your grocery bill is probably starting to go up and up and up.  I budget $400/month for groceries for Kenny and me.  That may seem like a lot, but I don’t like to skimp on healthy food.  I skimp on lots of other things in our budget (which I will reveal in another post), but I think eating healthy is too important.  Also, we go out to eat or get take out food about 2 times a month, so we’re only spending about $50 or less on dining out.  Since we are eating almost all our meals at home (approximately 88 meals/month), we need to spend a little more on groceries.  But, in the end, we are saving more money than if we went out to eat once a day like I used to do a few years ago.  We not only save on dining out, but we save on doctor’s visits, antibiotics, and medications because neither of us get sick often, need to go to the doctor, or use medications.  I have not had to take antibiotics or use any medications since I cut dairy out of my diet 2 1/2 years ago (more on this in another post).  So I think of it as a trade-off.  I’d rather spend more money on groceries than spend more money on healthcare.

Currently, 63% of government subsidies go to meat and dairy, 20% to grains, 15% to sugar, starch, oil, and alcohol, 2% to nuts and legumes, and less than 1% to fruits and vegetables.  (To see article on government subsidies by Physician’s Committee for Responsible Medicine, go here: Food Subsidies.)  Until this changes, healthy food is going to be more expensive than we would like.  In the meantime, here are some things you can do to decrease your grocery bill without compromising on your health:

  1. Print online coupons from the store’s website where you shop. (e.g., Whole Foods, Kroger, etc.)
  2. Kroger has sales all the time on their organic food in their Nature’s Market section.  Plus, you can save on gas when you shop at Kroger.  When you spend $100 on groceries, you get 10 cents off each gallon of gas.  When you spend $200, you get 20 cents, and so on!  Check www.kroger.com to see if there is a Kroger near you.
  3. Check the produce ads before you go in the store to see what fruits and vegetables are on sale.
  4. Buy in season.  Fruits and vegetables will usually cost less when they are in season.
  5. Buy in bulk when you know you will eat it all.
  6. Shop at your local Farmer’s Market and ask them to match or beat supermarket prices.
  7. Use your freezer to preserve food such as sprouted nuts and greens and fruit for your smoothies.
  8. For lots more healthy savings tips, go here: Frugally Sustainable
  9. Finally, I have included a Poor Man’s Healthy Grocery List listing healthy food that you can buy for cheap below!  You can buy organic and still have a cheap grocery bill!

Picture found here

Poor Man’s Healthy Grocery List

Kale
Bok Choy
Green Beans
Green Peppers
Zucchini
Peas
Corn
Carrots
Celery
Onions
Tomatoes
Potatoes
Fresh Garlic
Bananas
Seasonal fruit
Beans
Tofu
Sunflower seeds
Rice
Corn tortillas
Oatmeal

What tricks do you have for saving money while still eating healthy?  Leave comments below.  I would love to get some new ideas!

Recent HealLoveBe Articles:

33 thoughts on “How to Decrease Your Grocery Bill and Still Buy Healthy Groceries

  1. People always ask me this question and it’s all about shopping locally and in season! Farmers Markets and seasonal produce are my #1 recommendations to people!

    Love the post, very interesting about the dairy. I’ve been doing a vegetarian/vegan month on my blog and I love finding simple swaps for dairy and meats!

    • Great! I developed that list last year when my husband was going back to school and we were living on one income. We still try to buy the cheaper items along with some of the other more expensive items! Thanks for the comment!

  2. all I can say is SAMs Club. I buy 10 pounds of onions, 2 pounds of spinach, huge bag of long green beans, and 4 peppers and 3 pounds bananas at a time, and it forces us to eat healthy. We both eat salads for lunch almost every day and its amazing how much spinach we can get through in a week! (I do give some of it away, otherwise it would go bad, but there’s nothing wrong with sharing 🙂 )
    Great post… and thanks for finding me 🙂

      • I’m not sure how much of it is organic, that’s a good question! I know Costco does a lot better with that… but they are too far away from my house 🙂
        do you try to only eat organic?

      • I try my best to buy only organic, but of course, I know that that’s not always an option. I actually have a Costco near me, I’ll have to check it out! Thanks for the info!

  3. I started to reduce my bill last year, buying no more ready made meals and making my own, buying shops own brands, and baking my own biscuits, puddings and bread. Growing own veg through the summer to freeze.

  4. Pingback: Healthy Eating On A Budget | Healthy Diet Report

  5. Reblogged this on Healing Trips and commented:
    As I was thinking about what recipe to share with my readers today, I stumbled upon Jamie Falahee’s creative blog and this post caught my eye. As we all try to find ways to save money and eat healthy everyday, I think this post is full of awesome and useful tips that we can all use and appreciate each day.
    I hope you all enjoy it as much as I did.
    Have a Great weekend.

  6. This is an awesome post! I have been saying the same thing to people when they think I spend too much time or money on the “right” foods. My boyfriend and I also don’t go out more than twice a month and its a HUGE money saver. Plus I can say I haven’t been sick in three years.

  7. I live in an apartment so I started spouting seeds and beans for salad. I have friends and my father inlaw that grow tomatoes and squash. You can also buy a bag of planting dirt. Put holes in to grow lettuce or some other veggie. Don’t forget about hydroponics, water, fertilizer, filter like for a fish tank. Some cups with holes, a bucket or storage tub and seeds. It can be done anywhere in the house or on a small patio. When you have a small space you have to think small. You can’t grow 5-10 different things but you could grow 1-3. Every little bit helps. Great article!

  8. I don’t eat a lot of meat, but when I do I get the more expensive antibiotic free stuff. I try and make sure to get enough for multiple meals. Since there’s just my boyfriend and I at home I can roast a whole chicken, eat part of that for one meal and then use scraps for something like chicken soup or enchiladas. Sometimes there’s even enough to go with a salad for lunch as well.

    Eggs would be a good addition as well. Frittatas are great for using up leftover veggies and the like. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Grocery Shopping on a Budget – Saving Money Buying Cheap Groceries – delish.com « sherry's space

  10. Great post! Dr. Oz talks alot about the myth of healthy food being expensive (it’s not). Personally if I’m feeling really hungry I’ll stir fry some veggies in BBQ or Teriyaki sauce and serve it over mashed potatoes or rice- the starchy foods really fill you up and are definitely cheaper than meat.

  11. Pingback: 26 Healthy Snack Alternatives | HealLoveBe

Leave a Reply

